Raise the Region Gala

Featuring the Community Leadership Award Presentation

Raise the Region Gala
Join 600 business, philanthropic, and community leaders to celebrate the Community Foundation for Northern Virginia and to raise funds to build a better community for everyone.

The Raise the Region Gala is our annual mission-critical fundraiser that enables the Community Foundation to respond to need, seed innovation, and lead and convene the community. Held in the fall, it is a black-tie gathering of more than 600 business and community leaders that features the presentation of the Community Leadership Award for outstanding service and commitment to Northern Virginia, the longest standing award of its kind. Guests enjoy a seated dinner, raffle, and live and silent auctions that include luxury gifts and getaways.

Thank you to the 2019 Gala sponsors and supporters.

2020 Event Details

Friday, October 2, 2020

7:00 - 8:00 PM
Virtual Event featuring online Auction
Hosted by Leon Harris, NBC4 News Anchor
Host a Virtual Watch Party!

This year’s event is a campaign to raise unrestricted funds to support the Community Foundation’s ability to grow philanthropy to respond to need and seed innovation throughout the region.  It will include an online auction that will be promoted to the Community Foundation’s network of more than 10,000 individuals, a video that will air live on October 2nd, and opportunities to engage and connect with our community.
Learn More  Thank you to the 2020 Sponsors

Community Leadership Award Recipients

The Community Foundation’s Community Leadership Award is presented annually for outstanding community service and dedication to improving the quality of life for all Northern Virginians.

2019 Award Recipient: MG Carl H. McNair, Jr. (RET)

Here is the complete list of award recipients through the years.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 MG Carl H. McNair, Jr. (RET)
  • 2018 Ellen and Jim Dyke
  • 2017 Mark and Brenda Moore
  • 2016 J. Knox Singleton
  • 2015 Jim Wordsworth
  • 2014 Richard Duvall and Holland & Knight LLP
  • 2013 J. Hamilton Lambert
  • 2012 BB&T
  • 2011 Washington Gas
  • 2010 Booz Allen Hamilton
  • 2009 Sudhakar & Suresh Shenoy
  • 2008 Donna Morea
  • 2007 F. Kevin Reynolds
  • 2006 Alan & Sally Merten
  • 2005 Gary McCollum
  • 2004 Hon. Frank Wolf
  • 2003 Hon. Thomas M. Davis, III
  • 2002 Michael G. Anzillotti
  • 2001 Ralph W. Shrader
  • 2000 Michael A. Daniels
  • 1999 Mark Warner & Lisa Collis
  • 1998 Phil & Marge Odeen
  • 1997 Thomas E. Waldrop
  • 1996 Charles “Chuck” Vance
  • 1995 Edward H. Bersoff
  • 1994 Daniel M. Ross
  • 1993 Community Care Awards
  • 1992 Dan R. Bannister
  • 1991 Sidney O. Dewberry
  • 1990 Joe Gibbs
  • 1989 Joanne F. & George W. Johnson
  • 1988 Milton L. Drewer, Jr.
  • 1987 Virginia E. & John T. Hazel
  • 1986 James T. Lewis
  • 1985 John M. Toups
  • 1984 Earle C. Williams
  • 1983 Charles G. Gulledge