for Northern Virginia

CommInvestFundLogo smallThe Community Foundation for Northern Virginia conducts an annual grant cycle through the Community Investment Funds. Nonprofit organizations or organizations providing charitable or educational services in Northern Virginia are invited to apply. The Community Investment Funds make grants in the following areas: Please click on each area to learn more about the approach the Community Foundation takes in making grants to organizations working in each area. The specific focus within each area varies from year to year.

Please consider a 2017 year-end gift to the Community Investment Funds to help us respond to critical need in our region.

Thank you to the 2017 Community Incfnc 2016 granteevestment Fund donors and volunteers who made the 2017 cycle possible!  See a list of the 2017 award winners here.

To make a donation to the Community Investment Funds in one of its areas of interest, please click here.

The Community Investment Funds applications are reviewed and evaluated by Community Foundation donors and issue area experts. If you are a Community Investment Fund Application Evaluator, please click here for access to your assigned applications.

If you are interested in serving on the Community Investment Funds review committee, please contact Sari Raskin, Director of Community Leadership and Grants, at

Thank you to our 2017 Community Investment Fund Donors

Individuals Donor Advised Fund Contributors
Stephanie Abbott Business Bank Community Fund
Beryl and Mano Bartakke Huntsman Family Fund
Theresa Benincasa William A. and Helen C. Steinaker Fund
Kelly S. Blanks Cardinal Community Fund
Faith Boettger Travis and Kathy Brown Fund
Robin and Sean Brodrick Franks Family Fund
Fidelity Gift Fund (Matthew Black) Healy Charitable Fund
Suzanne Feurt and Gary Bass COATH Fund
Paul Gilbert Mangum Family Fund
David M. and Angela B. Goldkopf  
Topher Hall  
Fred and Lynne Hutchison  
David and Annie Keffer  
Lou and Debbie Kiessling  
Rosalyn L. Cooperman-Korff  
Michelle Mason  
William and Anne Overbey  
Catherine Pich  
Lori Reed  
Joyce Robinson  
David Rohrbach  
Jeanne Rossomme  
Erica and Theodore Schmitz  
Luiz Da Silva  
Kari Galloway and Paul Stern  
Anne Stone  
JV Schiro Zavela Foundation  

Thank you to our 2017 Grants Committee Volunteers

Catherine Abrahams
Janice Adamschick
Frank Blechman
Faith Boettger
Sandy Bogle
Mark Brown
Tony Brown
Ray Burmester
Jessica Burmester
Allison Calabro
Jinnie Chapel
Valerie Cuffee
Jesse Ellis
Kristin Emery
Andrew Emery
Jina Freiberg
Vanessa Holloway
Gaea Honeycutt
Ken Huntsman
Amy Kay
Craig Kendall
Dean Klein
Luba Mullen
Bernard Mustafa
Sharon Palmeter
Lisa Poff
Dianne Quebral
Steve Reeder
Patricia Rohrer
Catherine Schott-Murray
Patti Sinnen
April Thompson
James Wynn 

Thank you to our Community Investment Media Partner

NVMS logo Vertical